RSS

Mixed Martial Arts .. MMA

16 Feb

Today I was introduced to a new kind of contact sports..

It isn’t exactly new.. but to me it was coz i never seen it before..

I’m talking about MMA … i saw my first episode of BELATOR today.. and i must say it didn’t disappoint.

I grew up on a staple diet of WWF -WCW and later WWE and TNA

So for me wrestling was all about high flying moves, underhand tactics, heels, faces and ground breaking theatricals ..

And mind you i enjoyed it a lot. I loved it. My mom hated it though, she banned me from watching episodes of WWF, many a times i missed the rock knock the marbles off HHH or Steve Austin deliver a jaw breaking stunner,, but still HULKAMANIA ran wild … oh did it ever run WILD !!

The first Boxing watch i ever watched was one where on  May 2, 2009, Pacquiao fought at super lightweight division for the first time against Ricky Hatton at the MGM Grand Las Vegas. I work with Filipinos and they were very excited about this match up. They had placed bets on the game and asked me to be the moderator as I was the only neutral entity present. Thus came about my first Boxing match and mind i say i was shocked out of my pants, I didn’t know pacquiao, I didn’t know hatton but hatton looked bigger and stronger so i expected him to win, but he got knocked out beautifully. It was boxing at its best, The Pacman was a blur, he was in and out in no time delivering his punches and jumping out of hatton’s range.

The next match i saw was on November 14, 2009, Pacquiao defeated Miguel Cotto via technical knockout in the twelfth round, at the MGM Grand Las Vegas. Again I was impressed with his footwork and skill. And he showed it when on May 7, 2011, Pacquiao successfully defended his WBO welterweight title against three-division world champion Shane Mosley via unanimous decision at the MGM Grand Arena.

Recently i was reading up a bit about Brock Lesnar and noticed he had moved to UFC and that he had lost a fight and was contemplating retiring from UFC and rumours were abound of him returning to WWE (thank twitter for the rumour).

So it was a pleasant surpirise for me to see an MMA match in progress on BIG CBC Prime : BELLATOR

I caught the last round of the inaugural Woman’s Division bout (Ep 28 i guess… yeah yeah I know bellator is currently on Ep 60, but in my country we are still on Ep 28) which was won by LISA WARD.

The next fight was EXTREME, I mean I have seen fights but to see someone like Danny Tims go all out against Jose Vega was just AMAZING. Now I have seen a couple of Muay Thai matches but to see Tims go all out without any regard to defence was too good, he even got Vega a bit shaky in the first round, and I was HOOKED.

Well as of now I’ve made up my mind to catch a lil bit of MMA actions every once in a while whenever I can. Namely by downloading bouts from the internet or via DVD, which ever suits me.

There was a whole new world of Contact sports out there beyond the boundaries of Pro wrestling just waiting for me, and now I have found it. I personally don’t consider football(soccer) or hockey as contact sport coz u hardly see players beating each other to a bloody pulp.

Till next time …

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 16, 2012 in Entertainment

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Your VIEWS matter ! write em ...

 
